Blackened Chicken with Avocado Sauce

Yay for my first blog post! And typically, it’s about food (not sorry).

Summer school started a week ago and since I’ve been back in College Station,  grocery shopping hasn’t been at the forefront of my list of things to do – meaning breakfast and lunch were scrounging with what I had at home and dinner was something fast food. My roomie, Haley, has been doing the Whole30 Program, so she’s been on a huge health kick. Her dedication to her program has shown me that it really isn’t that hard to eat well and cook for yourself, so I’m gonna give it a whirl. I’m no where near doing the Whole30, but I’m going to get back on track to cooking for myself like I did during the school year, leave eating out to the weekends and maintaining a healthy mind set during the week.

 

Dinner tonight, courtesy of skinnymom.com, was Blackened Chicken with Avocado Sauce. You can find the link to their recipe here.

Blackened Chicken with Advocado Sauce

My picture doesn’t do it justice, but it was so good! The combination of spices used to blacken the chicken gave it an awesome kick and the avocado sauce had just the right amount of tang – and it only took 30 minutes! I tweaked a few things in the original recipe to fit my taste and needs, so I’ll post what I did below. I’ll definitely be making this again sometime soon – maybe for my mom who doesn’t know what quinoa is… (who is she?!)


Ingredients

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups reduced-sodium chicken broth
  • ½ cup scallions, chopped
  • 1 ½ Tbsp lemon juice, divided
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • ½ tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 container of Chobani greek non-fat yougurt
  • 1 small avocado
  • ½ tsp garlic powder

Instructions

  1. In a medium size pan, bring the chicken broth to a boil. Add the quinoa, turn heat down to low, and simmer for about 15 minutes (or until all the liquid is gone), covered. When it’s finished cooking, mix in scallions and a 1 Tbsp of lemon.
  2. In a bowl, mix paprika, cumin, cayenne pepper, onion powder, salt and pepper. Rub on both sides of chicken breasts.
  3. Spray a large frying pan with non-stick cooking spray. Cook chicken, covered, for 7 minutes on each side or until cooked through, over medium-high heat.
  4. Meanwhile, mix Greek yogurt, remaining lemon juice, garlic powder and avocado in a food processor.
  5. To serve, place the chicken on a bed of quinoa and put the sauce on top.

Now bon appetit! 

Xoxo

 

 

Leave a comment